EnglishSpanish
+506 2479 7242
Live Chat NowContact UsContact Us
Costa Rica Direct: 2479 7242

Reviews of Arenal Lodge

3Volcano and Lake View (Lava Flow) - La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica

$106
per night
Double occupancy
+ 13% Tax

Read what our travalers say about Arenal Lodge, or give your own opinion to help other people find the right option.


Reviewed by 19 Travelers

Displaying 1-19 of 19 Reviews
Write your own Review   Order by:

Nice Hotel

3.8
  •  

This hotel is far from town, all the way uphill, quite secluded, but very best view of the volcano. The room is quite strange, all glass window just in front of your bed, if there is no other guest rooms around you will be great, but if someone passing by may see you on your bed. Restaurant serve superb Beef and very good breakfast.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 19, 2013

Youmei Wang
Other...Verified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 3
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Excellent Hotel

4.6
  •  

It is a wonderful hotel, situated in a beautiful garden. Facilities are in very good condition and food is also very recommended. The staff is helpful and very friendly.
We loved the outdoor jacuzzi and enjoyed a nice massage at the hotel.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
January 21, 2013

annina tanner
SwitzerlandVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Fantastic view

5
  •  

Arenol lodge is a lovely hotel nested amongst the volcano region. The views were spectacular. Our room was wonderful and clean. I do want to compliment the staff, they were very accomodating to our needs and friendly.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
August 25, 2012

Ann Polgar
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

ME GUSTA

4.4
  •  

Me sentí muy a gusto y muy bien atendido. En realidad en un muy hermoso lugar donde se ubican sus instalaciones., es muy agradable y acogedor. La caminata estuvo muy linda pero nuestro guía casi solo habló en ingles, por lo que no entendimos mucho de la ruta, en fin estoy muy contento con mi estadía ahí, la vista es inigualable... Si claro que lo recomiendo.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
June 29, 2012

Cesar Vásquez Alfaro
Costa Rica
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Great View

4.4
  •  

Arenal Lodge is situated on a mountain above the Arenal Lake with a great view on the Arenal Volcano, even from the nice pool. We lived in a chalet, somehow 70ies architecture buildings, which offer comfort and great view, but somehow don't fit in the beautiful landscape. The staff was absolutely friendly and helpful, the restaurant of good quality. As the hotel is somehow isolated alternative dining is complicated (you have to drive 10 km including the 3 km steep road to the hotel, which was quite slippery after rain or fog.) Free rainforest tour in the hotel surrounding and horseback-riding! Great! Thanks Miguel!
The bar closed at 10 p.m., even on Sylvester. :-(


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
February 18, 2012

Peter Brosch
AustriaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Entorno envidiable

3.8
  •  

Estuvimos muy bien atendidos y nos encanto el entorno.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
August 24, 2011

Rogeli Ferran Gómez Tornero
SpainVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 3
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Wow! We loved this hotel!

5
  •  

This is the third time I stay in this hotel. I love this place. The view is fantastic. The people are fantastic. The service is wonderful. Yes, it is difficult to get up the mountain; but that is the price you pay for a beautiful view. We took the horse tour, the jungle walk, and just loved every minute. We will be coming back soon.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
August 16, 2011

Domingo Bernardo
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

PERFECT!

5
  •  

The Arenal Lodge is unique, charming, elegant in a gorgeous setting with beautiful landscaping. There is even a pet parrot! The staff were fabulous. We loved everything about this place and would highly recommend it to anyone.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
June 02, 2011

Diane
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Hotel

5
  •  

Really nice room - clean, spacious, with a great view of the volcano.
Quiet, beautiful location with exceptional views of the volcano and great restaurant on site. Friendly and accomodating staff. Beautiful infinity pool with quiet sitting area - perfect for relaxing, viewing the birds, foliage and volcano.
We really enjoyed our stay!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 12, 2011

barrie schwartz
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Beautiful location

4.2
  •  

Your staff are incredible and went out of their way to show us the animals etc around the lodge. We had the matrimonial suite and it was lovely. Only complaint was the breakfast the next morning was very crowded. The layout of the buffet was not convenient and by the time you got to your seat with the meal, it was cold. Overall great experience.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 09, 2011

Linda Maurice
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 3
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Family of 5

4
  •  

We thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. It was a great place for to stay as we did our activities around the area. Volcano was mostly in clouds and it is a bit outside of the city and the driveway is very long and steep. Overall great


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
August 14, 2009

Garrett Smith
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 3
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

wonderful view

4.8
  •  

I have stayed several places at Arenal and Monteverde. This was a great hotel. We had a master suite. The view of the volcano was magnificent ( when the clouds lifted). The room was clean and very comfortable. Also a nice butterfly garden and two hikes on the property, one through a meadow and one through the rain forest. Only drawback was it is about 20 minutes from the town of La Fortuna, so if you want to go out a night this would be a bit of a drive.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
June 27, 2009

Barbara LeTourneau
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Great View

4.6
  •  

We stayed for 3 nights in May. We paid a little extra for the chalet room and it was well worth the fantastic view. The free breakfast was great, especially so on Sunday. Staff was friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was very laid back.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 20, 2009

Joseph Powers
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
4.8
  •  

Arenal Lodge was Absolutely a wonderful experience....friendly staff, GREAT view from our cabana, comfortable room, plenty of nature to see and walk about, only suggestion is for them to improve their restaurant food quality+ selection.
By the way, also stayed at Cabanas La Rivera....worst hotel in the world...moldy walls, obnoxious staff, dirty room.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 21, 2009

Philip
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
4.8
  •  

I really enjoyed the hotel. The setting was beautiful and the laid-back, relaxed style of the hotel was great. I also found the staff very helpful. The guide who did the morning walk through the butterfly garden and forest, Miguel, was fantastic. He really seemed to like sharing his knowledge of the area. My walk and horseback tour with him were one of the highlights of my trip.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 12, 2009

Stephen Keehn
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
5
  •  

The view is breathtaking, the staff is very polite and helpful and the hotel is very clean. We stayed there for 3 nights and we got to see on the first night the volcano erupting while we were relaxing in the Jacuzzi. Breakfast was great, but dinner could have been better. I recommend Arenal Lodge to anyone just the entrance to the hotel is amazing you are so in contact with nature you forget about everything else.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
June 05, 2008

Heidy
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
4.6
  •  

Beautiful sites, wonderful view of volocano. clean, peaceful. The breakfast was awesome, but dinner is not very exciting. Employees were friendly, tours offered were wonderful and reasonable price. Will defenitly recommend.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
June 05, 2008

AmyQ
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
4.4
  •  

Overall our one night stay at the Arenal Lodge was good. The rooms were clean, the food was satisfactory. Our only complaint was a toilet that did not flush adequately. We spoke to the front desk in the early evening, about 5P.M. and were told it would be taken care of but it wasn\'t when we returned to our room at 11P.M. and ofcourse the front desk was closed for the night. Thankfully we had a second room for our group.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 25, 2008

dkanitz
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
5
  •  

Spectacular!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
October 26, 2007

Ray
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Reviews ( 1-19 of 19 )

Please share with others your experiences in Arenal Lodge
USA & Canada Toll Free1 800 540 0395
Local Phone Costa Rica2479 7242
Send Us an E-mail
Arenal Volcano Hotels - Arenal Volcano Tours - Arenal Volcano Hot Springs - Arenal Volcano Vacations - Arenal Volcano Transportation - La Fortuna Costa Rica