EnglishSpanish
+506 2479 7242
Live Chat NowContact UsContact Us
Costa Rica Direct: 2479 7242

Reviews of Arenal Paraiso Hotel

3Volcano View (Active Side) - La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica

$89.25
per night
Double occupancy
+ 13% Tax

Read what our travalers say about Arenal Paraiso, or give your own opinion to help other people find the right option.


Reviewed by 35 Travelers

Displaying 1-35 of 35 Reviews
Write your own Review   Order by:

Spectacular!

5
  •  

Great resort!
Delicious food! Cascading hot tubs very unique. Beautiful grounds, comfort rooms, nice folks. Top notch all around'


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 11, 2016

Edward Jewell
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Terrific

5
  •  

The grounds were terrific and we loved the animals. This has nothing to do with the hotel, but we wish the eating places close to the Hotel did not close so early. We had a wonderful time.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 11, 2016

Edward Jewell
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Very good

4
  •  

Private and romantic rooms in the middle of nature.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
February 21, 2016

Jorge Rodriguez Cerdas
Costa RicaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 3
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Nice hotel with volcano view

4.4
  •  

This hotel is very affordable and boasts an incredible view to Arenal Volcano.

You can find hot springs inside, no need to go somewhere else.

Receommended!!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
September 19, 2015

Karl Jame
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
[3 of 3 travelers found this review helpful]

not what I was looking for but great for average t

2.8
  •  

the hotel was nice and came as delivered. I guess I was not paying attention because I did not realize how far from fortuna it was. that added to the fact that I had no transport made it difficult to be mobile. The front desk was less than helpful in problem solving with me. They reported that their empty shuttles returning to town would still charge me the same rate as a taxi.
however I talked with cleaning staff and was able to get transport for free "the local bus"
second and more significant I woke up hoping to have coffee and watch the view from my lovely porch and rocking chair. The coffee machine in the room did not work. I called the front desk and they said they would send some one to see if it worked. I asked them to bring a spare with them.
no one showed up after 30 minutes I went to have breakfast which was great. I got back to the room and still nothing had been done. I went to the front desk reported the problem and that no one had come. I was assured that it would be taken care of. After a great long hike cerro chato, I was again looking forward to sitting on the porch with a cup of coffee. Again nothing had been done. I called the office again they stated that they would send someone to see if it worked. I asked them just to bring a new one and I explained my frustration with the lack of response to my two requests.
He said someone would be there in 5-10 minutes then hung up.
I found a member of the hotel cleaning staff, who immediately got me a new coffee maker. The hotel office person never came. Its not a big deal but it is. I met with the hotel manager who was very kind and tried to compensate me with spa treatment or dinner but those did not work out.


Bottom line: No, I would not recommend it to a friendNo, I would not recommend it to a friend
March 28, 2015

Kathleen Colleran
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 1
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 1
  • Value for Money: 3
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
[1 of 1 travelers found this review helpful]

Great Hotel Location

4
  •  

Great location in front of the Arenal volcano. Could sit on the verandah and see the top of the volcano on clear days.
Beautiful grounds of the hotel. Individual units well located with privacy. Friendly staff. Good breakfast selection.
Thermal springs on the grounds had good hot water, and made use of it daily.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 12, 2015

Naeema Doctor
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Nice

3.8
  •  

The grounds here are very pretty, and the hot springs are nice. The rooms are a little outdated, however. The service is good, but I didn't enjoy wearing the paper bracelet while I was there.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
July 19, 2014

Joan Smith
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 3
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 3
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Awesome Hotel

5
  •  

We was really happy with our visit at this Hotel. Well spent money


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
July 18, 2014

Jonathan Lefvedahl O.
SwedenVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Loved It!

5
  •  

We had a wonderful time in La Fortuna and really enjoyed the hotel. The grounds were beautiful and the rooms were very clean. Loved the buffet breakfasts. One of our favorite parts was just sitting in the rocking chairs on our front porch and looking at the volcano. We will definately stay here again. We are a family of 6 so we needed 2 rooms. This place was nice without breaking our budget.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 22, 2014

Nan Stoddard
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Paradise, indeed!

4.8
  •  

This is my sister's first trip to Costa Rica. We had a fantastic time. Great property we would return here


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
February 21, 2014

Rebecca Elzner
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Trip....

4.6
  •  

I stayed in a Cabin "Superior room" and I didn't hear anything from the other room. I saw the Standard rooms and they are very close each other, I know the Standards are cheaper than Superior, but, just for paying some more I could sleep ok. Absolutely I want to stay there in my next trip.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 06, 2013

Paul G. Stewars
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Moderate hotel

3.6
  •  

- Sound insulation was very poor. I could hear snoring from the next room clearly.
- We had dinner at the hotel; was not very expensive , but quality of food was poor.


Bottom line: No, I would not recommend it to a friendNo, I would not recommend it to a friend
April 03, 2013

Mehmet Fakioglu
TurkeyVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 3
  • Staff & Service: 3
  • Room cleanliness: 3
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Very nice place

4.2
  •  

Nice little bungalow right in front of the volcano. We feel like we're in the middle of the jungle, there's vegetation everywhere and colorful birds. We enjoyed the hot waters bath all along the little trail and also the wet bar. Service at the lobby is great and the food is good.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
January 04, 2013

Maude Michaud Dumont
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
[2 of 4 travelers found this review helpful]

GREAT TRAIL! ubstructed volcano views

5
  •  

the superior rooms for reasons unknown have glass windows between your view and the volcano. Why? I can't figure it out? Ya get light reflections at night, dead bugs during the day. All framed. Ya can get a better volcano view on tv. I agree with the guy about the hot shower. Its impossible .They have individual solar heaters.for each room. which gives you about 3 litres of hot water. The warm mineral springs were not that hot becuz the water is pumped from down by the river. By the time it gets there its cooled down. The walking trail is SUPER though. Seen some howler monkeys, lotsa pristine rain forest. The staff was great. I thought the restaurant was good and low priced considering you are a captive market. My friend is going to arenal in Feb 13. I recomended Los Lagos to him.


Bottom line: No, I would not recommend it to a friendNo, I would not recommend it to a friend
December 18, 2012

kerry vollman
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
[1 of 2 travelers found this review helpful]

Disapointment in green season

2.4
  •  

This hotel was recomended to us..what a HUGE dispapointment!
During the green season they could care less if you were there or not.
The food was good at the restaurant but, overpriced.
The hot springs only opened at 10am..what a waste of a day!
I would never go back, ever!
Plus, I get news feeds now telling me we could have paid half of the cost of what we did during green season..very mad!


Bottom line: No, I would not recommend it to a friendNo, I would not recommend it to a friend
October 04, 2012

Andrea Lang
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 3
  • Staff & Service: 1
  • Room cleanliness: 3
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 1
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Beautiful Grounds and Hotel

4.6
  •  

The fauna and wildlife of the hotel is unbelievable. Whether relaxing in the natural hot-springs, sipping a drink at the poolside bar, or zipping through the forest is your thing, you will not be disappointed with what Paraiso has to offer.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
July 24, 2012

Jeffrey Spatz
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Excelllent and Beautiful

5
  •  

Excellent and Beautiful hotel. Love that every room has a view of the volcano. I would definintely stay here again.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 14, 2012

Kristin Fallbach
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Nice Facilities

3.8
  •  

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Arenal Paraiso. The staff were all very nice and helpful. The rooms, restaurant, thermal pools and locker rooms were very clean. We enjoyed the landscaping, birds, sloths and the Paraiso cats! The mattresses in the rooms were VERY uncomfortable and need to be replaced. I could feel the springs as I laided on the bed. When booking a room, ask for one away from the bottom near the main road so you don't hear the traffic.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 18, 2012

James Burchette
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 3
  • Value for Money: 3
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Lovely Location

4.4
  •  

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. The rooms are all little cabins set in beautifully landscaped grounds. The rooms are big and comfortable and very private. The dining romm is good and the staff are friendly and helpful.
Our only reservation would be to say that this is an old hotel and it could use a little help. Our mattress was done and should be replaced. There are loose tiles near the pools. Just a few details like that, give the impression that a freshening up is about due.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 03, 2012

alex baillon
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 3
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Loved this place!

4.6
  •  

We booked this hotel because of all the great reviews it had received and it lived up to all our expectations.
The scenery is beautiful and the hotel staff are very friendly and professional.
Wonderful place to stay at!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 08, 2012

Paula da Silva
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

wonderful hotel and location

5
  •  

We stayed with friends at this great hotel.The location,service,rooms and food were all way above average.We really enjoyed having the hot springs on site.The price made this hotel a real deal.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
February 27, 2012

stephen markacs
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
[0 of 1 travelers found this review helpful]

Too Touristy

3
  •  

The Good: Excellent veiws of Mt. Arenal, the food was better than average. Cons: Hot Springs were disappointing. There was only one really hot one and it was very small. Although, if you went midday, you coud have private access to it. Rooms: nothing extra here. We even paid for the "superior rooms". Bring your own toiletries. The 2 Towels were cheap, thin and whimpy. Looking for a hot shower? Think again. Sorry to say that I was not impressed. Service was okay, but do not expect to feel special. Not worth the price.


Bottom line: No, I would not recommend it to a friendNo, I would not recommend it to a friend
February 19, 2012

DAWN TROWBRIDGE
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 3
  • Staff & Service: 3
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 1
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Good resort

3.8
  •  

Beatiful resort with wonderful view of the volcano.
Ok rooms, clean and specious. Hot springs amazing and beautiful pool!
Good breakfest in the morning but for other meals in restaurant Pricy and not worth it. Very friendly staff. Very close to La fortuna less then 10 min for Cab ride 5$.
Beautiful path to walk in rainforest with 2 waterfalls behind resort.
Would recommend this resort!!!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
February 19, 2012

Melanie Papp
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 3
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 3
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

We just had bad luck

3.8
  •  

Everything about the hotel itself was fine. And most staff members were friendly & helpful. We just happend to have too many inconveniences come from the front office. From forgetting to give us pool towel cards, to forgetting to give us voucher for canopying, to having room keys become deactivated twice in the same day (and then to blame the lock, not the key, even though the locksmiths key worked).
The breakfast is ok, I think it is overrated on other reviews, although the french toast was very good.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
February 18, 2012

Brandy McQueen
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 3
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Great place to relax

4.6
  •  

We really enjoyed the hot tubs after a 6 day trip of whitewater kayaking on a river in the interior Costa Rica. The resort has great ziplining ad the spa was very comfortable ad reasonably priced. The fitness equipment was not the best or eve adequate, but the horseback riding and cute cabins made up for this. Everywhere is Costa Rica, the roads are hazardous for running so beware!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
February 18, 2012

Martha Asselin
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Hotel

4.2
  •  

A great place with a great view and thermal pools.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
December 28, 2011

Peter Heesterman
Great BritainVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

so relaxing and peaceful

4.6
  •  

This hotel was very luxurious and what made it so great was the service and the staff who really want to please. The hot springs are well maintained and the pools were too. Beautiful landscaping and wildlife, mainly birds. The food in the restaurant was very reasonableand delicious.

Our only complaints were some ants and small flies in the room which may be unavoidable in such a humid climate. Also, if you plan to leave the hotel and have no car a taxi to La Fortuna downtown was $10-14 each way.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
July 22, 2011

Caroline
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
[1 of 1 travelers found this review helpful]

Great view

4
  •  

We loved the privateness and the birds and of course the view.

We ate only one one meal in the restaurant and we were disappointed, wanting more typical costa rican choices.

Loved the hot springs and hike but did not appreciate the very loud music at the pool


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 26, 2011

Richard Friedman
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 3
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 3
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Cool Hotel

4.2
  •  

Arenal Paraiso was a wonderful and beautiful hotel. Its staff were friendly, the hot springs were awesome, a nice breakfast thats included with your stay, and the view of the volcano was spectacular. Theres nothing bad i can say about this resort and my girlfriend loved it. I mean it was an expensive place to stay, but I got my money's worth.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
January 12, 2010

danny alonzo
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 3
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
3.8
  •  

the hotel is good, but the matress are in very bad condition, the food it\'s ok, the location is good


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
January 14, 2009

Michel
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 3
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
4.8
  •  

Enjoyed our stay at Hotel Arenal Paraiso. We had a superior room that was a cute bungalow with a glassed in porch area for viewing the volcano. Had a great view, though the lava side is actually further to the right, but we were able to see a red glow since the night was fairly clear. The hotel staff was very accommodating with allowing us a late check-out. The prior day we traveled from San Jose, but the bridge was wiped out so we had to turn around and go back to San Jose and then north a different way. We were late getting to the hotel so missed our horseback ride to the LaFortuna waterfalls. We rescheduled it for the following morning and the hotel allowed us a later check -out. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and only wish we had more time in LaFortuna.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
December 08, 2008

Kathryn
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
5
  •  

Hotel was well located, looking directly at the volcano! Unfortunately, clouds covered the top of the volcano during our 3 day stay at Arenal Paraiso. The staff was wonderful at the hotel! Always there to be at our service and the canopy tour is definitely recommended! Meals were good and hot springs were very nice near the top of the resort where they are the warmest. Resort was close to the town of Fortuna as well and an easy taxi ride to check out local restaurants.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 29, 2008

Joe Fernandez
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
5
  •  

Everything about this hotel is great! The views, the service, the rooms!!! Great staff and always very helpful! I will definitely be back!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
January 16, 2008

Roxie
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
5
  •  

What an amazing view, you can see lava from the porch of your room! Most amazing place in the world! Awesome food, clean rooms, clean bathrooms!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
October 01, 2007

nick
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
5
  •  

What a view! Not only do you come and see Aerial Volcano and visit Fortuna, you also have your choice at this hotel of bathing in the hot springs and zipping over the canopy. Check it out as it's an experience you shouldn't miss. Rooms are roomy and restaurant very nice with good food.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 08, 2007

Punkyb44
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Reviews ( 1-35 of 35 )

Please share with others your experiences in Arenal Paraiso Hotel
USA & Canada Toll Free1 800 540 0395
Local Phone Costa Rica2479 7242
Send Us an E-mail
Arenal Volcano Hotels - Arenal Volcano Tours - Arenal Volcano Hot Springs - Arenal Volcano Vacations - Arenal Volcano Transportation - La Fortuna Costa Rica