EnglishSpanish
+506 2479 7242
Live Chat NowContact UsContact Us
Costa Rica Direct: 2479 7242

Reviews of Arenal Springs Resort

4Volcano View (Active Side) - La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica

$200.00
$190
per night
Double occupancy
+ 13% Tax

Read what our travalers say about Arenal Springs Resort, or give your own opinion to help other people find the right option.


Reviewed by 28 Travelers

Displaying 1-28 of 28 Reviews
Write your own Review   Order by:

Amazing!

5
  •  

Arenal Springs was absolutely fantastic! The staff was incredibly warm and catered to all of our requests. Such a magnificent experience, highly recommended!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 04, 2016

Bryan Hwang
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Beautiful and pleasant hotel to stay

4.8
  •  

I had a fantastic stay in Arenal Spring Resort.
The hotel is very well located, has comfortable suites, beautiful gardens, well trained staff, and fantastic view to Arenal vulcano.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 05, 2016

Fernando Ribeiro
BrazilVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Beautiful greenery

4.6
  •  

The main area of the hotel was beautiful and the hot springs were exceptional. The rooms were nice. We traveled with family and had joining rooms, which offered togetherness and privacy.
The staff were very pleasant and accommodating.
Breakfast was good, better than expected. The only downfall was the price of food at both main restaurants. The Italian restaurant was very good while the other had a bit to be desired.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
January 24, 2015

Holly Sabljak
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Phenomenal!

4.8
  •  

My husband and I celebrated our 40th anniversary here. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. The first night we were there, they delivered sweet treats to our room, and we were greeted with a bottle of wine in our room when we arrived. (Even though we don't drink...we really appreciated the gesture!) We would recommend this hotel to everyone.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 03, 2014

Teri Haefs
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

great

4.4
  •  

everything was great. If i were to make mention of something quite insignificant, it was the worms that were in our room, i believe #802. I am quite certain they entered via the open shower, which in itself was quite cool. Open being that there is a grate that allows for moisture and sun.

Overall, truly enjoyed and would stay there again - staff was fantastic.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
January 06, 2014

david eral
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Place to Stay

5
  •  

We absolutely loved our stay at Arenal Springs Resort. From the moment we arrived, they made us feel special. The welcome drink was a nice touch after a 3 1/2 hour drive from San Jose. The rooms exceeded our expectations. The bathrooms were gorgeous and made you feel as if you were showering under a waterfall in the jungle. The volcano view from every room was spectacular. The breakfast buffet gets an A. Plenty of offerings as well as an omelet bar where your eggs are made to order. The swimming pool area and swim up bar and sushi bar were top notch. The water at this bar was from a natural hot spring and was bathtub warm. It was actually hot under the waterfall where the spring enters the pool. There was also a natural hot tub with waterfall and a large cool water pool if you'd prefer. The landscaped gardens around the entire pool area were absolutely beautiful and jungle like. Many exotic looking birds frequented the pool area. We saw Tucans and Scarlet Macaws fly overhead. There were also many small nooks around the pool area where you could have almost complete privacy. Very romantic. The entire staff were wonderful and ready to help you in anyway possible. The actual location of the resort couldn't have been better. It is located just a few minutes drive from the center of La Fotuna where there are lots of nice restaurants and shops. All of the areas attractions are conveniently nearby. We did not take advantage of the spa but it looked very very nice. I don't think you could find a nicer place for the money.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 20, 2013

Gerry Fischbach
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Wonderful Hotel and Location

5
  •  

This was our second time staying at Arenal Springs Hotel. The view of the volcano is superb! The tropical grounds surrounding the hotel really add to the experience as you feel like you are in a tropical rain forrest the minute you drive onto the hotel grounds. The staff was friendly and helpful which made for an all around great experience. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. The hot springs pools and swim up bar that were added since our last stay we a wonderful addition.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
August 19, 2012

Kevin Martin
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Great hotel. Must stay

4
  •  

Very beautiful and customer service was excellent. Best breakfast of any hotel in CR.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
July 25, 2012

Tamica Lalor
Costa RicaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

A fantastic place!!!

5
  •  

Nos quedamos allí 3 noches que fueron fantásticas. Las cabinas muy cómodas y bonitas, la vista del volcán espectacular, el servicio excelente y las aguas termales maravillosas. Éramos un niño y dos adultos y el lugar es muy cómodo para todas las edades. Definitivamente lo recomiendo y quisiéramos volver muy pronto!!!!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
July 14, 2012

Cynthia Robert
Costa RicaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Arenal Springs Resort

5
  •  

100% Satisfied with my stay. Excellent service and great experience. This place was beautiful and amazing.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
July 03, 2012

Benjamin Cordell
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Beautiful location, great service

5
  •  

Beautiful rooms with a "backyard" that looks out right on the volcano. Great service, especially with coordinating tours. The pool is lovely, and we really enjoyed the hot springs.

Food is on par with other hotels in the area, but somewhat mediocre.

The grounds are truly beautiful, and it was a very relaxing, enjoyable experience.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 22, 2012

jessica mark
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

outstanding!

5
  •  

This vacation could not of been any more special for a son and Mom bonding!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 24, 2012

Rosemary Horan
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Hotel

4.4
  •  

We had a good time at the Arenal Springs Resort


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 07, 2012

Keshavaiyengar Narasinhan
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Nice Place

5
  •  

This was a real nice place and i would stay there with out hesitation and plan on taking my kids there


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 19, 2012

Tom Lawrnece
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
[1 of 1 travelers found this review helpful]

Loved our stay at Arenal Springs

4.6
  •  

This hotel is great. Wonderful pool with thermal spring water, swim-up bar... The staff was wonderful and the restaurant was nice too. Loved the rooms and greenhouse-like shower! The only complaint was that the room was a little musty.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
December 24, 2010

Daniel Punt
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Hotel

4.8
  •  

Great


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
July 19, 2010

Richard Butt
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Nice hotel

4.4
  •  

Hotel was simple. Putting your toilet paper in the garbage in your room was awkward. Nice rooms, great views, helpful staff. The restaurant was not too good. Not a big selection of appetizing entrees. Overall it was ok. There are no springs here and a small pool.


Bottom line: No, I would not recommend it to a friendNo, I would not recommend it to a friend
July 17, 2010

nicholas anello
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Beautiful...private...

5
  •  

Beautiful grounds and friendly and knowledgeable staff who go out of their way for guests... we went during the rainy season and saw the volcano the first day however the views and sounds every morning were still amazing and unforgettable... we felt like we were the only ones there...very private rooms and patios...secure...so many tours and activities to choose from and are easily arranged for you...can' t wait to go back...


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
December 05, 2009

Rubii
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Very Nice Hotel

5
  •  

This is a very nice hotel to stay at - good location with friendly helpful staff and nice facilities. The breakfasts were very good. I was a bit disappointed with the dinner - I ordered the best steak and it was tough and frankly not as nice looking as the lesser ones...

In particular the folks at the front desk and those that drive you around were very friendly and helpful.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
November 28, 2009

Bryan Smith
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Wonderful hotel!

5
  •  

It was everything we wanted & more! The staff was extremely hospitable & went out of their way for us. (The concierge even drove us to the Baldi Hot Springs!)The food was excellent and I agree with one review that for a 3 star resort - it felt like a 5 star!!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
November 10, 2009

Stephen Haley
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

EXCELLENT HOTEL

5
  •  

A PESAR DE QUE NO SABEMOS EXACTAMENTE EL FUNCIONAMIENTO DE SU RESORT ,LES PUEDO DECIR QUE LA IMPRESION QUE TUVIMOS FUE EXCELENTE YA QUE LA ATENCION QUE RECIBIMOS EN APENAS POCA SHORAS FUE IMPRESIONANTE Y MUY SATISFACTORIA POR LO CUAL SERAN ALTAMENTE RECOMENDADOS A NUESTROS MAMIGOS Y LOS CONSIDEDAREMOS PARA FUTURAS EXPERIENCIAS EN COSTA RICA.KEEP THAT WAY YOU ARE DOING GREAT THANK YOU VERY MUCH. ANGEL ANCIANO


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
October 14, 2009

ANGEL ANCIANO
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
5
  •  

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Arenal Springs. The rooms were very nice and we enjoyed sitting on the patio watching the birds and volcano every morning. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. We were a group of 11 and there was something for all of us.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 20, 2009

Joy Jones
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
[1 of 2 travelers found this review helpful]
4.4
  •  

Facilities: Very nice, clean... Location: Excellent (notwithstanding the unpaved road to get there)... The breakfast buffet: Tasty... But what left me and my family with a bad taste in our mouths was how we were treated at the front counter at check in. We arrived at the hotel (after a bumpy and curvy 5 hour drive) shortly before 2 p.m. because the hotel website stated that check-in was at 2. At the counter, however, the reception employees told us they were too busy turning over rooms, and check-in would be at 3. They said we should have known check-in was at 3, even though the website said 2. They insisted check-in was at 3! They said we\'d have to wait another hour for a 4-year-old kid and his very pregnant mother to be able to rest in a room. After we told them (over and over) that check-in was at 2, according to the hotel\'s own publicity, they finally found a room for us. It shouldn\'t have been such a hassle, it shouldn\'t have taken an argument, to check-in at the time stated on the website.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
January 07, 2009

Edwin Garcia
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 3
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
4.6
  •  

stayed Jan 31st and left 01-01-09, from the main entrance to the hotel Road iis not payved and is about 1/2 km but you feel like entering a jungle o a different world, it is left like this bacause you practice hoarse riding on this road, even the road inside mostly non payved, room are delux room like a cabine clean the entry from the back yard with a security door is 8 foot glass door and all the front wall is glass so from your bed you see the volcano and the garden, bath with skylight semi open and in the bath there is small garden, when it rain the water irrigate this garden, swiming pool big nice but COLD, no jacuzzi, restaurant food normal, staff outstanding, may ask for special fruit drink not served normally during the free breakfast and no charge, park assigned to you room in front of the cabin, this hotel is new it is 5 years old, sheet are clean, but the covers they smell little old used by several persons, i like them to smell fresh detergent..may ask to change them, ac in wall ( not on window) and quiet work with remote control


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
January 02, 2009

Nice Stay
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
4.8
  •  

We had a great stay at Arenal Springs Resort and absolutely loved our view of the volcano! The staff was very friendly, the rooms were immaculate, and the grounds were beautiful - many different types of flowers. Thank you for a wonderful 2 days!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
October 17, 2008

Amy Jones
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
5
  •  

This hotel was amazing. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the grounds are beautifully kept. The views from the rooms were great. The food at the restaurants is also good.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 14, 2008

Zack Faas
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
4.8
  •  

We liked your hotel very much. Our stay was too short, we requested a three night stay but you were booked. We were just glad that you could accomodate when you could.

thanks,

Eric Wolfe


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 01, 2008

Mr. Eric Wolfe
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
5
  •  

We stayed in November 2006, and loved the quiet location off the busy road around Arenal, and the friendly staff. Four couples in our late 20\'s and early 30\'s spent four days at Arenal Springs, and found it the perfect home base for exploring the Hot Springs at Tabacon, taking canopy tours, and hiking and horseback riding around the volcano.

The staff was super-helpful in planning excursions. The food at the restaurant was good, but it was also a quick drive into La Fortuna for dinner at a bunch of local restaurants. The rooms were clean, full of natural light, and had great porches with rocking chairs to read a book during the day and watch the volcano at night. The mature landscaping between the individual rooms added privacy to the porches.

We found and booked a reduced rate online, but even the normal rate through the resort would have been a good deal, in our opinion. After exploring a number of other resorts/hotels in the area, we\'d definitely stay here again!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 30, 2007

AdventureGrl
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Reviews ( 1-28 of 28 )

Please share with others your experiences in Arenal Springs Resort
USA & Canada Toll Free1 800 540 0395
Local Phone Costa Rica2479 7242
Send Us an E-mail
Arenal Volcano Hotels - Arenal Volcano Tours - Arenal Volcano Hot Springs - Arenal Volcano Vacations - Arenal Volcano Transportation - La Fortuna Costa Rica