EnglishSpanish
+506 2479 7242
Live Chat NowContact UsContact Us
Costa Rica Direct: 2479 7242

Reviews of La Pradera Hotel

3Volcano View (Green Side) - La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica

$75.22
per night
Double occupancy
+ 13% Tax

Read what our travalers say about La Pradera, or give your own opinion to help other people find the right option.


Reviewed by 35 Travelers

Displaying 1-35 of 35 Reviews
Write your own Review   Order by:

A great hotel

5
  •  

The staff at LaPradera was wonderful. They went out of their way to help us with every question we had. They even booked us a zip line tour. The facilities and pool area are first rate. We stayed in one of the bungalows and it was comfortable and spacious. Overall, it was a wonderful experience to stay there.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 23, 2016

richard key
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Beautiful views, good location

4
  •  

We stayed at Hotel La Pradera for 4 nights and enjoyed a sunny view of the green side of Arenal Volcano for 2 of those days.  (keep in mind that if you are coming here strictly for the volcano view, nature may be against you).  The grounds/gardens are well kept and make for an enjoyable atmosphere.  We were in a cabin with our own porch with 2 chairs, a table, and 2 rockers and a beautiful view (on sunny days).  As we were 3 people it would have been nice to have a third chair for the table.  For the most part the hotel and our room were in good shape although small repairs were needed in our shower and other hotel areas.  Our room was clean and comfortable.  A small note:  the hotel only has bath-size towels - no hand towels or wash cloths.

The staff, and locals, were all friendly and helpful and the front desk booked a couple of tours for us.  We ate in the restaurant a couple of times and the food was good but not spectacular.

We enjoyed the location of the hotel very much as we were a 5-10 minute walk to small restaurants, souvenir shops, and a grocery store.  If you aren't afraid to walk and want to get off the beaten path, you can walk about an hour to a cacao farm for a Chocolate Tour, or an hour plus to La Fortuna Waterfall,  both of which we did and thoroughly enjoyed.  Also we walked about 1/2 hour to a site for a Night Walk which was great.  We found that walking afforded us a different view of the area that wouldn't be seen speeding by in a tourist bus or taxi.

The only down fault, and it was small, was that wi-fi was only available at the restaurant and reception area and not in our cabin.  When you travel with the younger generation this is a desired feature.

All in all a good stay at La Pradera.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
February 28, 2015

Robin Lane
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Lots of charm

5
  •  

All four of us (two couples) loved our stay at La Pradera. The rooms are surrounded by beautiful gardens, with a charming layout adjacent to the main building and pool space. The rooms were reasonably priced and featured large tiled baths. The maids outdid themselves with towel art each day! We could hardly believe the quality and variety at breakfast, including an omelet impresario who blew us away! We would definitely stay at La Pradera again.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 04, 2014

Paula Shepley
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Great hotel

4.4
  •  

We stayed at this hotel 20 &21 December 2013. We are a family of 5 (children aged 23,21,and 18). We booked 2 rooms which turned out to be 2 separate bungalows. The hotel offerd a small swimming pool, and a jacuzzi and we were able to relax and admire the volcano in the pool! There was a pool table which the children enjoyed.
We found the staff very helpful regarding local activities.
The food was great - we had an american breakfast one day and a buffet style the second day. The hotel was clean, the staff friendly and we felt this was very good value for money. We would highly recommend it.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
January 29, 2014

Andrew Almond
Great BritainVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Very pleased....

4.8
  •  

Clean, neat, accomodations. Great view of volcano, beautiful pool area, restaurant had great breakfast. We were very, very pleased.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
January 11, 2014

Rosalind Juptner
Costa RicaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

A good value!

4.6
  •  

The hotel and the restaurant was an excellent value. I appreciated the use of their computer in the lobby, also. The landscaping was just beautiful and our room was lovely.

On the down-side, we experienced some difficulty making a local phone call and it took awhile before we successfully made the call

The horse-back riding tour that they booked for us was a very bad tour. Much of the time the horses had to walk uphill on a large stone gravel road or on a very narrow stone and muddy trail. It was difficult for the horses and not at all pleasant for me. I hope La Pradera will consider not doing business with this company in the future.

Thank you for asking my opinion.

Paula Zalla


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 01, 2013

Paula Zalla
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Good value

5
  •  

La Pradera was comfortable and welcoming. They had a great full breakfast buffet and we also ate at the restaurant for dinner, which was reasonably priced and good service. Wonderful view of the Arenal volcano from the hot tub!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 01, 2013

Karen Pope
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Excelent and beautiful

5
  •  

Really great hotel. The rooms are very confortable, the place is beautiful


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
February 13, 2013

Alfredo Romero
Costa RicaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Great hotel

5
  •  

Absolutely beautiful place to stay. It was so clean and staff so helpful. We both loved the breakfast..especially on the weekend when they have their full buffet. We stayed in a cabin with the most beautiful view of the volcano. I would highly recommend La Pradera Hotel to all and we look forward to returning in the future.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
October 18, 2012

Nancy Anderson
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Spot!

5
  •  

Clean, nice pool, awesome breakfast, beautiful view, hot shower, cool A/C. Overall, A+!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
July 25, 2012

Christine Kirsch
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Spectacular View!

5
  •  

This hotel beat my expectations by far. The rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious. I couldn't ask for a better place to stay! Great view from the pool and jacuzzi as well!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
June 28, 2012

Rebecca Jakob
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

A well kept secret

5
  •  

Great location, beautiful view of the volcano.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 22, 2012

Richard Kenna
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Great view

4.4
  •  

Nice litte hotel. Good restaurant. We always see the magnificent volcano, even in the pool :)


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 07, 2012

frenette Julie
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

A lovely comfortable place

5
  •  

We stayed at LaPradera for two evenings while visiting Arenal and area. It is a very clean and comfortable hotel. The gardens around the cottages and the hotel are so well manicured. We truly enjoyed the view of Arenal from our front porch. The staff are very friendly and most helpful. The extra touchs provided by the housekeeping staff are very decorative and thoughtful. Meals in the restaurant are varied and well prepared. We especially liked the visible security provided both day and night. This shows a pride of ownership as well as great care for the guests.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 02, 2012

Andre Bouchard
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

An awesome view!

5
  •  

We recently stayed at La Pradera Hotel in one of the cabins and absolutely loved it! This is one of the places we would stay at our next trip to Costa Rica. The grounds were lush and green, the cabin was spacious, clean and have a wonderful front porch for relaxing and enjoying the view of Arenal. I would highly recommend this place. Great location outside of La Fortuna with easy access for traveling to other beautiful places in Costa Rica.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
July 27, 2011

Marsha Pinat
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Pleasant surprise

4.4
  •  

We had just come from Arenal Observatory Hotel which is much more higher end, but we were extremely happy with the room and with the food. I would definitely go back. We were there at end of March. The weather was almost perfect. We did not need a/c so no comment on how it works. Good location close to everything.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 13, 2011

steve hobbs
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
[1 of 1 travelers found this review helpful]

Great Hotel

5
  •  

Complitly satisfied with service, room, location and value


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 20, 2011

Edward
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Schoenes Hotel

4.4
  •  

wir haben eine Rundreise viele Lodges kennengelernt,
Die Aussicht auf den Vulkan ist klasse.
Das Fruehstueckbufett war sehr reichhaltig.
Die Fruchtsaefte wurden frisch gemacht, was in einer anderen Lodge undenkbar war ( Tuete auf und gut ist)
Uns hat er sehr gut gefallen und es war ein schoener Aufenthalt in Fortuna.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 19, 2011

Anita Kallenberger
GermanyVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Lovely!

4.4
  •  

Very accomadating and friendly staff! Muchos Gracias!!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 16, 2011

Amanda Heistad
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

very nice

5
  •  

We LOVED our cozy cabina at La Pradera ! The location is perfect - not far from town, quiet, great pool area, and the grounds are lovely to walk around in. Breakfast was wonderful each day, and the staff truly friendly ! Great launching spot for all the activities nearby, Thank you ( :


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 11, 2011

Katherine Withers
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

NIce hotel

3.8
  •  

Enjoyed my stay despite the bad weather.
My only criticism was the young girls working at the front desk.
She was a bit rude and very unprofessional. The older woman and man
who we dealt with were very helpful and profesional but the young girl
makes a bad first impression. We almost checked out.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 09, 2011

Robert Chemtob
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 3
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Beautiful, Peaceful, a Great Value

4.8
  •  

We had a wonderful stay at La Pradera.
It is not fancy but clean with all the amenities you need.
We arrived very late at night and the night watchman let us in no problem. I've traveled around the world and in many locations in Costa Rica I would recommend the place to anyone.
Mannix


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
February 23, 2011

Mannix OConnor
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Wonderful

5
  •  

Our time at this hotel couldn't have been better. Nice rooms, great staff, warm water. The pool area is beautiful and the hot tub was nice after a rainy day out in the forest.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
February 17, 2011

Hilda Kroeker
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Fabulous Place to stay

5
  •  

We stayed at La Pradera Hotel for 2 days in November and really enjoyed our stay. The location is fabulous - right across from the volcano and a few minutes from town. The staff was very friendly and helpful in answering any questions we had. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone go to La Fortuna.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
December 24, 2010

karen ketchum
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Great place

4.6
  •  

We were 10 persons, our family: grand parents, two young families and four kids (age: 4-11), enjoying our stay for three nights. Our mountains cabins were very beautiful, cosy, rather big - and with the most wonderful view of Arenal Volcano. We were lucky: sunny, clear weather even if it was the 'green season'. Only: The vocano were quiet!
We were not so empressed about the food at dinner, but the breakfast was very good.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
November 26, 2010

Bodil Smith
DenmarkVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Hotel

5
  •  

Clean, comfortable, great amenities, and near to the volcano and waterfall!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
August 03, 2010

Kimberly Reardon
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

La Pradera

4.2
  •  

Very nice hotel with a great view of the volcano. Staff were all very helpful and friendly.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 29, 2010

Russell Kennedy
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

room with a view

4.4
  •  

Good hotel, clean towels every day, great view, great breakfast and a nice pool.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 17, 2010

Frank Adriaensens
BelgiumVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Great hotel for the money

4.2
  •  

Stayed here for four days before Christmas. The grounds are beautiful. Very well maintained. Literally dozens of hummingbirds to be seen every morning. Cabins are large and clean, with plasma TV's and satellite programming. Great restaurant on site. Only negative is that the rooms are sparsely decorated with only a bed and a desk and two night tables. There is a table with chairs on the porch that could be brought into the room. A great hotel for the budget minded traveller.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
January 12, 2010

Jeff O\'Brien
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Rigth place to stay

4.8
  •  

La Pradera hotel is a very beatutiful place with very friendly personal. It is located conveniently and pretty cheap. Five minutes from Baldi Hot Springs and 500 meters from supermarket. A great view at the volcano (based on weather conditions). The hotel has it's own restaurant. Because of low season it was almost empty, but I was able to have all my breakfasts and dinners in a comfort athmosphere. I also was able to watch hummingbirds, frogs, an armadillo right from my patio. Swimming pool is nice too. If you are stuck on internet, it's also available in front of reception.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
September 22, 2009

Alexander Bochkov
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Wonderful

4.6
  •  

The hotel was great, especially the cottages. Staff was nice and location was convenient. I will definitely go back to Costa Rica and look into staying here again.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 11, 2009

Anthony Perez
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
5
  •  

We had a wonderful time at La Pradera! Fantastic views, beautiful landscaping and pool. The food was very good, as was the service. We stayed in the Cabins and really enjoyed the privacy and quiet. We could be in our room with the door open and still feel very private and secluded. La Fortuna was our favorite town to stay in.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 05, 2008

Peggy Payne
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
4.8
  •  

My friends and I really enjoyed our visit at La Pradera. The grounds are beautiful, the cabin was roomy and clean. We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was wonderful and the entertainment - the resident parrot - was a hoot. We would definately stay at La Pradera again.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 18, 2008

Jo Ann Faramelli
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
4.8
  •  

i stayed here, with my family in march 2007 - and it was great! very nice, big bungalow, in a beautiful garden setting, great views, both from the bungalow and the fantastic pool area! nice people and great steak!
there are only 2 small things, i want to mention... one is the lighting in the bungalow - ours was quite dark - and the breakfast is not that great, it was fine, but not spectacular, like the rest of our stay. our 2-year old daugther got very close with the parrot in the restaurant, as well as the small, round princess-pool!
great stay, will come back, if we get the chance!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
July 04, 2007

katrine may hansen
Denmark
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
4.8
  •  

We stayed in one of the little cabins at La Pradera.
It was a lovely place to stay, looking up at the volcano\'s inactive side.
The rooms were clean and perfectly simple with a large bathroom, comfy beds and our own viranda outside with table, chairs and rocking chairs.
The food was good with a wide range of drinks. staff were polite, friendly and helpful.
It was in a fab location close to the town which has a good range of shops, bars, cafes and restaurants.
It was very peaceful with a range of flowers and animals all around.
It was a great place to stay if you want to relax by the gorgeous pool in front of the volcano or take part in the adventurous tours.
I definitely have a soft spot for La Pradera and La Fortuna!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 03, 2007

Emily
United Kingdom
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Reviews ( 1-35 of 35 )

Please share with others your experiences in La Pradera Hotel
USA & Canada Toll Free1 800 540 0395
Local Phone Costa Rica2479 7242
Send Us an E-mail
Arenal Volcano Hotels - Arenal Volcano Tours - Arenal Volcano Hot Springs - Arenal Volcano Vacations - Arenal Volcano Transportation - La Fortuna Costa Rica