EnglishSpanish
+506 2479 7242
Live Chat NowContact UsContact Us
Costa Rica Direct: 2479 7242

Reviews of Lavas Tacotal Hotel

3Volcano View (Active Side) - La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica

$79.65
per night
Double occupancy
+ 13% Tax

Read what our travalers say about Lavas Tacotal, or give your own opinion to help other people find the right option.


Reviewed by 14 Travelers

Displaying 1-14 of 14 Reviews
Write your own Review   Order by:

Not what you thought it would be.

2.4
  •  

The reception desk was great and the people working are very nice, they tried to accommodate as much as possible, but this was the worst stay in Costa Rica. The bungalow is old and smelled horrible, the shower did not work and had black stains on the tub as if it wasn't ever washed. The room everyday was filled with ants. This was the worst breakfest in Costa Rica, the food was horrible! The hotel is not located in the center or close to the center, you must take a taxi which is $30, there is no public transportation.


Bottom line: No, I would not recommend it to a friendNo, I would not recommend it to a friend
January 14, 2016

Maryanna Shtulman Shtulman
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 2
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 2
  • Location: 2
  • Value for Money: 2
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Beautiful & Affordable

4.8
  •  

Beautiful grounds and nice, clean rooms. Very nice and accommodating staff. Good breakfast in the morning and gorgeous views. Also a nice restaurant across the street.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
November 26, 2015

kevin rung
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Muy lindo hotel, pero con ciertos inconvenientes

4.2
  •  

El hotel es muy acogedor y la atención en la recepción fue excelente, y la habitación muy limpia y acogedora, no obstante hubo algunos asuntos que no me gustaron:
1. La atención recibida en el restaurante por parte del mesero fue muy fría y descortés. El día 14 de febrero, hubo una cena especial, se ofrecieron 2 platillos por parte de recepción, pero en el momento de la velada, únicamente nos ofrecieron 1, sin opciòn. El precio no iba acorde con la calidad de la comida y con lo prometido.
2. En el desayuno, el gallo pinto estaba muy frío, y le faltaba sabor a la comida.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
February 26, 2015

Erol Vargas Hernandez
Costa RicaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 3
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 3
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

No Amenities- Too far!

2
  •  

This place is VERY far from town, not ideal if you are planning on visiting La Fortuna and don't have your own transportation as it is much closer to the volcano. 

The "restaurant" is only available for your breakfast (the typical plate was quite good).  We tried to get a beer several times but they don't have any!  Also internet does not work in your bungalows so we brought our beer and computer to the restarant to look for tours etc.  It is very strange to be the only ones sitting at a restaurant table with a staff member watching tv and you bring your own beer.

At this hotel you see hardly any guests, and pretty much one to three staff members that you will ever see.  

The restaurant across the highway does have food all day and it is good.  :)

Our room also had mice droppings- gross- I am sure that they are aware they have a problem and should be cleaning the rooms daily so guests aren't stepping in it!  
Also when you get in the shower it sprays almost entirely around your body and does not actually get any water on your head (interesting when you are trying to get the shampoo out!)

Would not stay here again.  Stay in La Fortuna and you won't have to take a cab so you can get a beer or coffee or see other people.


Bottom line: No, I would not recommend it to a friendNo, I would not recommend it to a friend
February 11, 2015

Ashley MacDonald
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 3
  • Staff & Service: 3
  • Room cleanliness: 1
  • Location: 1
  • Value for Money: 2
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Not nice... great!!!

5
  •  

The hotel has an splendid view of the Arenal Volcano. Although it was cloudy and rainy, it was a very nice day! It is very close to the small town of La Fortuna, where there is a bar with live music, good food, and nice beer. The food in the hotel was awesome. Well... Costa Rican food is always good, so there is no room for failure. The cabins were well equiped, the beds very comfortable. And the garden, perfectly groomed! It was a pleasure to walk around.

Also, the staff was really helpful and nice! They were great!!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
December 29, 2010

Mauricio Echeverry
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

A room with a view!

3.2
  •  

The hotel grounds and room were lovely - we had an end unit that looked towards the volcano. We were dismayed though that our room wasn't cleaned at all the 4 days we stayed there. It also was too far out from La Fortuna to walk so a taxi was needed each time we wanted to go into town. There may have been a shuttle service, but the front desk didn't let us know about one if there was. The front desk was helpful in setting us up with a few outings we did, but they didn't offer information unless asked.
If I visit this area again, I would chose a different hotel - one that is closer to town.


Bottom line: No, I would not recommend it to a friendNo, I would not recommend it to a friend
December 24, 2010

Susan Wright
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 2
  • Location: 3
  • Value for Money: 3
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Fantastic View

4.8
  •  

I traveled on an EF (Education First) Tour with 4 other students and 3 teachers and we stayed at 5 different hotels all over the beautiful country of Costa Rica. By far Lavas Tacotal was my favorite. The rooms were clean, and the meals served were delicious. Also having a great location to visit the small town near by and the Baldi Hot Springs. The best thing about Lavas Tacotal is waking up in the morning and seeing the SPECTACUALR view of the Arenal Volcano. If I traveled to Costa Rica again I would definatly plan to stay at Lavas Tacotal.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
December 17, 2010

Chelsey D.
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Pretty hotel with stunning mountain views

4.8
  •  

WE thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, the staff were helpful and my bringing an extra guest was no problem for them. The food in the restaurant was fantastic. Not a good idea to stay when there is a huge group of American High School kids as they are exceptionally inconsiderate and noisy, but the hotel itself was A1!!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 04, 2010

Carol Mitchell
New ZealandVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
4.8
  •  

The good people at Hotel Lavas Tacotal took very good care of us during our stay at Arenal. When we needed a taxi, they found one quickly. When we planned outings, they set up everything. The cabin and the view were both fantastic. We hadn\'t planned to eat so many meals at the hotel dining room, but we did anyway because the food was good and plentiful, plus the staff members were helpful and friendly. They even willingly assisted us with our attempts to learn to speak Spanish. I\'ll recommend Lavas to friends.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 08, 2009

Joseph Rada
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
4.8
  •  

Having 3 teenagers poses problems in finding hotel rooms big enough. Lavas Tacotal has large cabins with 3 queen size beds great for our large family. Breakfast off the menu were small portions for teenagers, but delicious. The friendly staff were always available to help.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 27, 2009

Dave
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
5
  •  

We had a great room with a direct view of the Volcano (it was a bit cloudy so unfortunatly we could not see it). The staff were very nice and the buffet type breakfast was good. Some real orange juice would of made it perfect.
The location was good as it is perfectly situated close to some hotsprings and la fortuna for eating out.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 17, 2009

Olivier Collin
Costa RicaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
4.8
  •  

We traveled to Costa Rica on July 2-7 2008. The Hotel Lavas Tacotal was a simple hote but very clean and quite. The people are the hotel were great as well as the breakfast. The hotel has an excellent view of the Volcano. I\'ll stay here again. Also, I have to thanks fortunawelcome.com for booking our private transportation during our stay in CR with Mr. Jesus Vargas, he was very professional and nice. Great Service! Myriam


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
July 11, 2008

Myriam I. Garcia
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
5
  •  

We loved this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was large and comfortable, the landscaping was beautiful and the view of the volcano was great. We also enjoyed the restaurant. We did not have time to take advantage of the pool, but it looked nice (and clean). We would definitely stay here again.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 18, 2008

KS
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
5
  •  

This hotel was fantastic! Very friendly staff. Clean, and great food. I would recomend this to anyone, familys couples.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 18, 2008

Kara
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Reviews ( 1-14 of 14 )

Please share with others your experiences in Lavas Tacotal Hotel
USA & Canada Toll Free1 800 540 0395
Local Phone Costa Rica2479 7242
Send Us an E-mail
Arenal Volcano Hotels - Arenal Volcano Tours - Arenal Volcano Hot Springs - Arenal Volcano Vacations - Arenal Volcano Transportation - La Fortuna Costa Rica