EnglishSpanish
+506 2479 7242
Live Chat NowContact UsContact Us
Costa Rica Direct: 2479 7242

Reviews of Los Lagos Hotel

3Volcano View (Active Side) - La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica

$107.97
per night
Double occupancy
+ 13% Tax

Read what our travalers say about Los Lagos, or give your own opinion to help other people find the right option.


Reviewed by 30 Travelers

Displaying 1-30 of 30 Reviews
Write your own Review   Order by:

Came back a second time....

4.4
  •  

We originally stayed at Los Lagos in 2013 and had a great time. Returned during our trip in June 2016 and the resort was just as wonderful as we remembered it. It has some new pool upgrades and a new bar. The rooms are adequate, but we didn't come to spend time in the room. The pools are clean, fun, and allowed us to completely relax before heading back to the US. The staff is extremely nice. I would highly recommend Los Lagos!

Thank you,

The Krueger Family


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
June 21, 2016

Scott Krueger
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Los Lagos stay

4
  •  

The hotel staff was excellent. The accommodations were average at best. With just a few minor adjustments, the accommodations could be significantly improved. For example, the room should have a table and chair(s) for guests to use. Instead, the only place to sit in the room was the bed. With only a bed, it is difficult for the visitor to lay out papers and maps to plan their day's activities. It would be good if the room had an in-room coffee maker.

Just a couple of changes would increase the value of one's stay significantly and would cause me to recommend the hotel to my friends. In its current state, I would suggest a friend find a different and less expensive alternative.

David Gaither


Bottom line: No, I would not recommend it to a friendNo, I would not recommend it to a friend
December 09, 2015

David Gaither
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 3
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 3
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

marco valencia

5
  •  

este resort es el mejor de la fortna en san carlos los recomiendo 100% saludos


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
December 02, 2014

MARCO VALENCIA
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
[1 of 1 travelers found this review helpful]

Wonderful family hot springs park

4.6
  •  

In February we spent a day and night with our grandchildren at Los Lagos and found it was the perfect size and atmosphere for a family with children. We all had a wonderful time. This year when the grandchildren again came to visit we asked them where they wanted to go, and they asked to go back again to Los Lagos. We did, and again all had a wonderful time.

The grounds are lovely, the rooms are very comfortable (we had a superior room), and the pools are clean and just the right variety of temperatures for the whole family.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
August 14, 2014

Mark Antell
Costa RicaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Excellent hotel

4.4
  •  

We had a pleasant stay; we enjoyed the landscaping and the scenic lookout point of volcan Arenal.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 22, 2014

Angela van Breemen
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

okay hotel, fabulous grounds

4.6
  •  

We stayed here for three nights and greatly enjoyed our time. The pools are great, and the grounds are beautiful. Our kids especially enjoyed the swim-up bar, where they could order and drink their nonalcoholic beverages without leaving the pool. The rooms are large but nothing special, and bugs do get inside. If I were to stay at Los Lagos again, I would consider upgrading to a better room. But we really had a wonderful stay and would definitely recommend the place to others.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
February 05, 2014

Tracy Pintchman
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
[1 of 1 travelers found this review helpful]

Gorgeous and wonderful time!!

5
  •  

My boy friend and I stayed here for a couple of nights and had an absolutely wonderful time. All the water...hot and cold......very romantic! The Margaritas at the main pool bar are the BEST either of us have ever had. We also did the zip lining and horseback riding there and, well...........both are a must do! The food was wonderful. We just had a great time and feel the charge for the room and all the activities was reasonable. We talk about our stay there more than any other part of our CR trip!!!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
January 19, 2013

Patti Crowson
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
[1 of 1 travelers found this review helpful]

Gorgeous campus

4.4
  •  

lovely grounds, great hot springs. beautiful hike. a bit spread out, better to get one of the rooms near the entrance. some bugs, but as to be expected


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
January 18, 2013

Audrey Pang
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 3
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
[3 of 3 travelers found this review helpful]

Under the Volcano

4.6
  •  

The website did not do the Los Lagos hotel justice. It was much more than was expected. We had a breathtaking view of the volcano just outside our room and the grounds were immaculate and lush.
The breakfast buffet offered just about everything you would want for a complete morning meal.
I throughly enjoyed my five day stay at Los Lagos.

JM
Georgia


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
October 19, 2012

Jan McDaniel
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
[2 of 2 travelers found this review helpful]

Beautiful Hotel

4
  •  

A very nice hotel, great pool with water slides and hot springs. Beautiful sceenery and lots to enjoy on the property. Booking thru FortunaWelcome was a very pleasurable experience. Everyone super friendly!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
August 18, 2012

Carolyn Wagner
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
[1 of 1 travelers found this review helpful]

the best hotel

5
  •  

is beatiful everithing thanks for everithing is exelent 100%


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
July 11, 2012

MARCO VALENCIA
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
[2 of 2 travelers found this review helpful]

Great Hotel and Service!!!

4.6
  •  

My friends and I stayed at Los Lagos Hotel for three days (April,2012). I would highly recommend this hotel.Tthe staff are very helpful and provided great service. The rooms are very clean and roomy. The pool and bar are great as well. Try the restaurant for dinner, the food is awesome!! The free breakfast is great also.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 30, 2012

Leodovica I. Faruolo
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
[2 of 2 travelers found this review helpful]

nice place

3.8
  •  

The property was absolutely beautiful, several hot spring pools that were nice and hot. One of the hot spring pools had a waterslide and a swim up bar which was nice. The Drinks at the bar were a bit overpriced, so we went elsewhere to drink. The location was good... fairly close to the waterfall, the volcano, and La Fortuna. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well. The rooms weren't anything special... they were very small and had some bugs that came in from a window, but it had a refrigertator and were kept clean. I would stay here again, would probably just get a standard room though and save money, it's more the property your paying for anyways.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 25, 2012

amber mihalik
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 3
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 3
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Lovely Place!

5
  •  

We only stayed one night here and were able to negotiate the rate with the front desk.

The grounds are immaculate and the landscaping absolutely breath taking. Beautiful pool areas with a jaw dropping view of Mt. Arenal. Rooms are clean and large

The breakfast buffet had many choices..American and International and the food was delicious. Staff was very polite and accomodating.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 08, 2012

Sandy Golden
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Hotel

5
  •  

It's very complet, there have everything you need to take a good vacation


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
February 20, 2012

Mario Lin
Costa RicaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

So relaxing, so different

4.6
  •  

My family and I had a very short stay but we enjoyed every minute of it.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
February 18, 2012

Marcia Peraza
Costa RicaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
[2 of 2 travelers found this review helpful]

Loved the place

5
  •  

Spent two night at Los Lagos whilst on a 7 night rainforest tour and loved it. Even the low clouds and non-appearance of the the volcano could not detract from our enjoyment. Really comfy, clean rooms and the dreamy hotpool wet bar with the slide was so much fun. We were there in late November 2011 and despite the rain and cloud we had a ball!! A visit to Fortuna just down the road is recommended, a typical costa rican town with shops, bars and retaurants.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
December 30, 2011

Mark & Heather Berry
Great Britain
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

awesome place

4.8
  •  

Stayed 3 nights with three friends. Had the room with 2 queen beds and two pull outs. The pull outs are like trundle beds with a full mattress that slides from underneath. The pools are inviting and fabulous. The hot spring has clean clean water that leaves you refreshed. I took the onsite canopy tour and horseback ride both were great. They have and excellent staff including servers and front desk and bar. Rooms are clean and ours had a front and rear porch. The view of the volcano is outstanding from almost everywhere in the resort. The butterfly garden and ant farm and frog farm are just ok but the landscape is lush. Short cab ride to town and pleasant shopping.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
October 23, 2011

Genevieve Jackson
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
[1 of 1 travelers found this review helpful]

Los Lagos

4
  •  

We were very nice impressed with a nice panorame of Arenal and Landscape from both sides of our room. It was unforgetable beautiful. Only thing which made us regret was a restaurant. The quality of dishes was very bad.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
September 11, 2011

Larysa Paulus
GermanyVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 3
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Hard Beds

4
  •  

The place is beautiful, but the beds are so hard and uncomfortable. Very uncomfotable, I have slept on the ground more comfortably.


Bottom line: No, I would not recommend it to a friendNo, I would not recommend it to a friend
August 17, 2011

Linda Sanders
United States
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 1
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Loved this hotel

5
  •  

We stayed 3 nights at Los Lagos and loved it ..there were 6 of us. Three adults and 3 kids and we all had the best time. The kids could not get enough of the hot springs and pools with the fun slides and even the adults had fun going down the slides and soaking in the hot springs. We were able to get online at the pool and in the lobby so that we could update family and friends of the fun we were having. We also enjoyed seeing the butterfly and ant farm as well as the crocodiles which were located on the hotel's property.

Every morning we would walk to the restaurant from our room, which was a beautiful 10 min. walk down hill with views of the volcano.The kids loved going over the hanging bridge and we always saw lizards and butterflies along the way. The food was delicious and the breakfast buffet was filled with yummy choices for everyone and the staff were always very helpful and nice.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 10, 2011

Dawn
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Fantastic Vacation!

4.6
  •  

We visited Los Lagos the first time in 2010 but only for a few hours as part of a day trip to Aernal. We were so impressed with the pool and grounds that we decided that we stay on our nect vist. We returned to Costa Rica in March 2011 and booked an overnight tour to Aernal with a stay at Los Lagos. The two days in La Fortuna were the highlight of our vacation. Great weather, zip-lining and hikes. The hotel has a great location and the rooms were large and clean. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and maintained. The hotel's location is excellent with great views of Aernal. We enjoyed the hike up to the oberservation overlook on a beautiful clear evening. The views of the volcano were exceptional. The staff were curtious and helpful. We will definitely return again.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 10, 2011

Al Kluz
United States
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Incredible Vacation!!

5
  •  

Our vacation in Los Lagos Hotel was spectacular. We had an incredible view of the volcano right outside our window. This was truly a site that my children and I will never forget. We had an adventure of a vacation, white water rafting, canopying and the volcano hike with an appreciation of true beautiful nature. Wish we were still there....


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
July 19, 2010

Mary Astudillo
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Hotel

4.6
  •  

Magnificent gardens, views of the volcano and facilities. Nice stay in a very nice hotel. Clean swimming pools and lots of carefull detailing.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 03, 2010

Ana Maria Mendez
Costa RicaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Better Than Photos

5
  •  

Although the photo on the website show some nice parts of this hotel, they don't really capture the essence of it. The grounds are beautiful and very naturally preseved. Our kids just loved the pools with the incredible slides and bridges. The rooms were large, well-equipped with updated baths. Breakfast was nice and restaurant was pleasant. Waitstaff very accomodating. Lobby of hotel is one aspect that didn't hold up to rest of hotel and it's amenities, but that wasn't important to us. I highly recommend it!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 16, 2010

Gena Pettinato
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Wonderful!

4.8
  •  

Our stay at Los Lagos was terrific! The amenities are great. Our 4 and 6 year old loved the crocodiles, ant, butterflies and frogs. My husband and 6 year old had a great time ziplining and I enjoyed the spa:). The hot springs and pools are great. Rooms are huge and the staff is awesome! We hope to visit again.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 19, 2010

Amanda Spaeth
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Exelent Hotel

5
  •  

We truly enjoyed our stay in Los Lagos Hotel . Pools qhere great and the breakfast really good.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 06, 2010

Jetta Järvinen
FinlandVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

We had a great time

5
  •  

Los Lagos was clean and the food was amazing. Breakfast was awesome. I enjoyed the fresh fruit and the combination of typical Costa Rican food with 'American' style food. We had a good time over there. The view to the volcano was beautiful also. The only thing that I did not like was that the bed was not comfortable at all. It was way too hard.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
January 14, 2010

Brenda Huynh
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Hotel that cannot be compared

5
  •  

Iam a Tica who now lives in the USA. On one of our visits to CR, we stayed at the Lagos Hotel..we loved sitting in the jacuzzi at night as we admired the Arenal Volcano, it was spectacular!!!
The hotel and all it has to offer was out of this world.
We'll be visiting my beautiful country Dec. 16th, 2009 and my daughter is looking foward to staying at Los Lagos again and so am I :-)) First time vistors to CR will be with us on this trip and I cant wait for them to live this experience.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
December 09, 2009

Maria Franco
Costa Rica
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Loved it, kids did not want to leave

4.4
  •  

Really enjoyed the hotel, room and location. The slides were great and my kids 5, 8 and 10 did not care about seeing the rest of Costa Rica. Every other place we went the kept saying. This is nice but it does not have a pool and slides like Los Lagos, including the Pacific Ocean. We will come back and next time maybe see some lava.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
August 25, 2009

Eric Cernich
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Reviews ( 1-30 of 30 )

Please share with others your experiences in Los Lagos Hotel
USA & Canada Toll Free1 800 540 0395
Local Phone Costa Rica2479 7242
Send Us an E-mail
Arenal Volcano Hotels - Arenal Volcano Tours - Arenal Volcano Hot Springs - Arenal Volcano Vacations - Arenal Volcano Transportation - La Fortuna Costa Rica