EnglishSpanish
+506 2479 7242
Live Chat NowContact UsContact Us
Costa Rica Direct: 2479 7242

Reviews of Miradas Arenal Hotel

2Volcano View (Active Side) - La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica

$96
per night
Double occupancy
+ 13% Tax

Read what our travalers say about Miradas Arenal, or give your own opinion to help other people find the right option.


Reviewed by 59 Travelers

Displaying 1-59 of 59 Reviews
Write your own Review   Order by:

Good Value

4.4
  •  

Overall this was a very nice place. Great veiw of the Volcano, cabins were good overall. Morning breakfast was outstanding! Great food and great service. We only experienced a couple of issues; one more significant than the other. The biggest issue was lack of hot/warm water. The first day of our stay (we had two cabins) there was plenty of warm water to shower. After that it was as if the water heater was turned off. Nothing but ice cold water. Second, while you can purchase tours at the hotel there is a gap in information from what is required or recommended for the tours and the information you actually get from the front desk. With that said, it appears to be a problem at all hotels as others on our tours had the same issue. It may just be easier to book directly with the company you are taking the tour with versus your hotel.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 28, 2014

David Zwart
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Amazing views

5
  •  

The cabin was perfect for our family, a queen for us and a single for our son with the bathroom between so there was a little privacy even though we were in the same room. The view from the porch was incredible, so many flowers and birds to look at. The volcano is no longer flowing, but we knew that before we arrived and didn't really miss it.
Our hosts were very nice and helpful, Estrelia (with perfect English) gave us great information and cooked a great breakfast.
The road from San Juan to La Fortuna (which I had been worried about) was perfect, better than some roads here at home. I think the country in general has put a lot of effort recently into the roads, most were brand new or just a couple years old.
Trip of a lifetime and we will be back.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
June 04, 2013

Gheda Gayou
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Wonderful stay

5
  •  

Beautiful bungalows. Beautiful view (I'm not sure why the view is rated only 2 out of 5 stars, except that maybe when the volcano was still erupting, it's not at the moment, there were better places to see the lava...from what I can see, though, it was fabulous and I loved waking up to the view every morning). The hostess was lovely, and made a terrific breakfast every morning, often while quietly singing to herself. The bungalows/cabins where clean, modern, and comfortable. The swimming pool was just what we needed after a long day, and given that there are only, I think, eight cabins, was completely ours after dark (dark comes early, like six pm, so plan on an early to bed, early to rise vacation). Waking up to the bird songs in the morning was a treat. I have absolutely no complaints. I thought the value was very high for what we paid.

Unless you really like walking and have plenty of time, this hotel is not within a reasonable walking distance of La Fortuna, however, so I'd recommend staying here with a car. But, assuming a normal one or two week vacation I'd recommend a car regardless as it allows a lot more flexibility in exploring the country and even though it is kind of expensive (the insurance, mostly) it does dramatically increase the value of the stay. There is crime in La Fortuna, though (we had our rental broken into at the Catarata Rio Fortuna falls parking lot...a highly recommend side trip, btw) so keep valuable out of site. Most places we went a two wheel drive vehicle would have been fine as the roads are in better shape than we expected. We liked having the 4x4, though, when visiting the Butterfly Sanctuary (a surprisingly worthwhile trip), or really anything up the volcano, as it is up marginally maintained dirt roads.

We were here for, I think, three evenings. We should have spent a week here. After that, though, I think other parts of this stunning country would be calling.

Oh, there are free hot springs a few minutes from the hotel (by car), so there is no real need to spend tons of cash on one of the hot spring spas unless you are more inclined to the high end service (we didn't check them out). Your call.

Highly recommended.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 26, 2013

Adam Plourde
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Really nice hotel

5
  •  

Miradas Arenal was all it was advertised to be....great location, very nice patrons and staff, beautiful grounds, perfect breakfast, and suitable pricing. The birds around the grounds were fantastic and the volcano was right in front of the units - too bad it was covered by clouds while we were there. There was a 'hot' water problem when we arrived but it was corrected quickly.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 20, 2013

donald osborne
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Great Family Hotel

4.2
  •  

I really like that we had our own bungalow. Our own private space, very nice interior and exterior and more importantly it was safe. The Staff were very helpful. We wanted to do take out one of the nights and they offered to drive us to the restaurant to pick up the food for free. That was very nice of them. There was complimentary breakfast which was great! Internet was a bit off though we didn't have wifi in our room which is what we wanted. I wished it had it's own restaurant or some kind of supermarket since this was a bit far from everything.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
February 01, 2013

Sylvia Lin
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 3
  • Value for Money: 3
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Wonderful hostess

4.4
  •  

We had and excellent time. The accommodations were clean and Inviting.
Breakfast was great. We felt like part of the family, not just guests.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
January 18, 2013

susan galgay galgay
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Miradas Arena Hotel

4
  •  

Very friendly host, great view on the volcano. Accommodation clean and well maintained, great value if you are looking for something quiet just outside (5 min by car) of the touristic downtown


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
January 07, 2013

Roland Banholzer
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Great place to stay!

4.8
  •  

Miradas is great, this is the second time that I have stayed there and would surely return for a third stay. Estrella and her family are wonderful and very accommodating. Breakfast is served every morning and is delicious with fruits, eggs, toast and always gallo pinto! The grounds of the hotel are amazing and there are wonderful plants with lots of birds and wildlife. The view of Arenal is amazing during our visit we had multiple opportunities to see the entire volcano sitting on the porch of our private room. All the rooms at Miradas are private and have a fridge and safe with nice cool A/C. Estrella is always happy to arrange any trips such as whitewater rafting, zip lining or coffee tours and her recommendations were always spot on (I have to say that Estrella and her family are one of the best things about this hotel). I would highly recommend staying here.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
December 06, 2012

Jay Radtke
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

wonderful hotel, great view!

5
  •  

We wish we didn't waste our money on the hotel next door to this one & spent an extra night.
Very hospitable people, nice pool & great view of the volcano!
Would reccomend this hotel to anyone!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
October 04, 2012

Andrea Lang
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
[1 of 1 travelers found this review helpful]

Excellent !!! Highly recommended

5
  •  

There are no words to express the gratitude we feel towards the two great people that own Miradas Arenal Hotel. Estrella and Robert welcomed us to this beautiful home-like environment that allowed us to enjoy our 10 days vacation to the fullest. Both were welcoming from day 1 and guided us to assure we spent our money wisely (by choosing the best, but must affordable experiences we wanted to accomplish in 10 days). But before I get to that point, let me start by describing the beautiful Boungalows Miradas Arenal provide tourist with. If you are a couple and you are trying to get away from your busy, hectic everyday life and therefore crave some time alone with the one you love, this is the place you have been looking for!!!! The Boungalows are beautiful well-equipped small cabins that will provide you with maximum comfort through your vacation. First of all, the view from your cabin to the Arenal Volcano is priceless. Just thinking of waking every morning and seeing this enormous Volcano from your small deck its just beautiful. Second, one of the most important things for any tourist is cleanliness where you are staying. We have absolutely no complaints when it comes down to that. Boungalows were always impeccably clean, which is a big +++++++ for us. We personally loved the huge, huge, huge, huge bed we slept in. When coming back home, we decided that we must buy something as big and as confortable. Like my partner will always say, YOU CAN SWIN ON THIS BED!!!

Breakfast was always exquisite homemade meals and the variety that was provided was really good (from typical Costa Rican breakfast to pancakes). There are no words to express the beauty of the surroundings. Everywhere you turn, banana trees, lemon trees, yucca trees, beautiful flowers, plants and palm trees which are adding touches for a perfect relaxing get away anyone. But the true +++++ of Miradas Arenal, is that the two owners Estrella and Robert are the sweetest most helpful individuals we meet in Costa Rica. They are definitely not there to try to take advantage of a tourist, try to sell you the most expensive tours in Costa Rica! To the contrary, they guide you to the most exciting and affordable but yet reliable (as far as where and what tour company) to use. Examples: Zip Lining, Horseback Riding, Volcano Walks, Hanging Bridges, Thermal Waters, White Water Rafting etc.

Again, We know this because before coming to Costa Rica, my partner and I did an intensive research about all the activities. Estrella guided us to the things that were more comfortable, which fit our budget. Most importantly they told my partner and I when and where not to pay for a guide (trust me that saved us a lot a lot a lot of money) A LOT!!!!! If we were to rate our experience from a 1-10 scale, we would have to give it a 20. If you have a chance to visit Costa Rica, trust me, do it you would not regret it!!!!!!

P.S. Rent a car and a GPS, it will save you money and time.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
June 28, 2012

Claudia Aviles
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Miradas Arenal Hotel

3.8
  •  

Very friendly and nice staff. Wonderful homecooked, fresh authentic breakfast. Beautiful grounds and view of the volcano. Unfortunately it is a $10 one way taxi ride from the hotel to the town of La Fortuna. The web site said it was a short 2 KM walk to town. It shortened our stay from 2 nights to only 1 because I wasn't going to spend $20 for a RT taxi ride to eat dinner (no resturant at the hotel). If you are traveling through Costa Rica via a rental car, then staying here would be an excellent choice. However we were not and I felt it was misleading in their ad to say it was walking distance from the city.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
June 05, 2012

Robin Lutkemuller
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 1
  • Value for Money: 3
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Wonderful

5
  •  

This was an excellent bungalow! Estrezza and Roberto were fabulous hosts. The grounds were beautiful and the view of the volcano was awesome!
We definitely would return on our next visit.
Clean, private, comfortable.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 01, 2012

Mark Gorman
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Very nice bungalowhotel

4.4
  •  

We had a nice and quiet bungalow with a beautifull view.
The staff was very friendly.
We wondered why not every bungalow was occupied, but of course this added up to the quietness.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 01, 2012

H.C. Pull
NetherlandsVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Extremely comfortable

5
  •  

Very warm and helpful hosts. The cabins were clean and comfortable in a beautiful grounds. Very close to the town of La Fortuna with a beautiful view of Arenal Volcano. We would return to this accomodation if in La Fortuna again and recommend it for any other travellers.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 28, 2012

Oliver Breeze
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Quiet and Relaxing

4.6
  •  

We thought the cabinas were cozy and in a perfect location to watch the volcano. From this central location you are close to all the hotsprings, parks and of course Fortuna. Breakfasts were delicious, offering you a choice of what they would make you. We would definitely return to this accommodation!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 13, 2012

Wayne Vermette
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

very good hotel

4.6
  •  

The view of the volcano was beautiful.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
February 18, 2012

bettina le hyaric
FranceVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Beautiful Hotel and view

5
  •  

Unfortunaly we were only able to stay 1 night at the Miradas Arenal Hotel. We would have love to stay longer. The view fro our room and breakfast area of the volcano was beautiful. Room was clean and service was perfect. I defiantly stay here again and for more than one night.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
January 03, 2012

Roger Kappe
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Fantastic!

5
  •  

We loved the Miradas, more specifically the family who owns it. They were so very nice and fixed us the most wonderful breakfasts each morning. They were very personable and called us by our first names each time we saw them. The room was always clean and the grounds were spectacular.

It rained every day we were there and the rooms have metal roofs, so we had that wonderful sound of rain on the roof every night. Kept us awake the first night because we were not used to the noise, but after that we found it relaxing and enjoyable.

They deserve 5 stars! When we come back to Costa Rica we will definitely plan to stay at the Miradas.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
December 27, 2011

Emmie Cooper
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Very Unique

5
  •  

My wife and I spent 2 nights in June 2011 at this amazing place. The "cabin" was like a mini resort suite with great amenities and an excellent view of Volcan Arenal. The grounds were pristine and naturally beautiful. Our hosts, Estrella and Roberto, were gracious and treated us like family. We would recommend this environment for a romantic couple or a family getaway


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
August 29, 2011

fred matthews
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Great view, close to the action

4.4
  •  

Our family of 3 stayed for 3 nights. They had everything we needed and were helpful with recommendations. Includes a pool with a volcano view and the best breakfast we had in Costa Rica! The grounds are landscaped beautifully - every morning hummingbirds, fruit crows and many other birds were active all around our cabin.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
August 29, 2011

Lisa Herter
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Wonderful Hotel

5
  •  

We absolutely loved this place. The cottages are very private and nicely decorated. The view of the Volcano Arenal is spectacular! You can enjoy a drink on your balcony and take in the breathtaking views. The breakfast is made to order and probably one of the best we had in Costa Rica. We highhly recomend this hotel to anyone that wants a little privacy and wants to be about a 10 minute drive from downtown La Fortuna. Estrella, muchas gracias por todo.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
August 17, 2011

Jorge Prado
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Perfect Hotel

5
  •  

We loved it so much we went back for our last night completely out of our way and off schedule. The food was great, the hotel owners were great, the location is perfect and the rooms are clean, beautiful and convenient, with our car parked right outside our door. I highly recommend this hotel.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 13, 2011

Maxim Price
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Fabulous Hotel

5
  •  

My family visited this area in March 2011. We stayed 2 nights at Miradas Arenal. It was so fantastic. The owners were the nicest people and so helpful with providing information about the area as well as our other accomodations in Costa Rica. I look forward to staying with them again and will tell everyone about this place. It was clean, the food was great and the plants and birds were so vibrant in color. The view of the Arenal volcano was breath taking. This is a must stay location.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 04, 2011

Sharon Shackelford
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

An excellent hotel

5
  •  

The location was convenient to family in La Guaria. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts were excellent. The cabin was comfortable and in a very quiet and beautiful location.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
February 23, 2011

Burrell Landes
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Nice small hotel

4.8
  •  

This is a very nice small, family run set of bungalows. The gardens are beautiful. One caveat--we started in one of the smaller units. It was dark and somewhat claustraphoic. After we moved to one of the larger units with wonderful windows and more space everything was wonderful. This is a great choice if you aren't looking for lots of amenities and services. The family was wonderful, helpful, and very friendly. "The Springs" resort is very close where you can buy a 2 day pass to this 5 star resort for $40. There isn't a better view of the volcano (when it isn't raining!) to be found. It is a bit far from town. If you have a car it is great.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
February 02, 2011

Lauri McNown
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

AMAZING, ROMANTIC, QUALITY SERVICE :)

4.8
  •  

My girlfriend and I went to La Fortuna for some fun filled adventure & had an amazing time. This hotel made it an excellent experience from the MINUTE we got there (literally) until the time we left.
The rooms are clean, cozy, and nice BIG bathroom. Room cleaning daily. EXCELLENT breakfast sooooooo delicious.

The BEST part other than the BEAUTIFUL gorgeous view of the arenal volcano is the service the owner provides. Extremly nice & humble lady and her husband made our experience even better.

I STRONGLY recommend this to anyone, and the BEST part it is affordable. =)


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
January 12, 2011

Sasha Dominguez
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Just amazing!

5
  •  

We stayed there for about a week and had a wonderful time surrounded by the beautiful nature, lots of birds, the gardens and the great view to the volcano, off course how to forget the wonderful service of the owners towards us.
Every single day had a really good breakfast, and they were always very helpful!
The only sad thing was that we didn't get to see the lava at night, but the rest was just wonderful, nice rooms, and hot showers.
Definitely would go back there!
Thanks to Estrella!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
January 12, 2011

Sol Sagot
Costa RicaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Paradise Found

5
  •  

Miradas Arenal Hotel was one of the best places we stayed while visiting the lovely country of Costa Rica! Our view of the volcano was incredible and just wish it had been active but it was impressive still! Our view out the large floor to ceiling glass window while laying in bed was like watching a huge 3d TV screen! The bed was very comfortable and the room was perfect with a small refrigerator. The deck outside was spacious and we watched hummingbirds buzzing about with volcano Arenal in the background. Sunrise from our little cabina was incredible. Our hosts Estrailia and her husband were terrific! The breakfasts that were included were awesome and some of the best we had. The pool was beautiful but the weather was a bit too chilly to enjoy but just looking at it while eating breakfast surrounded by beautiful flowers was good enough! Miradas Hotel is in the perfect location for nightlife and many other activities. I highly recommend Miradas Arenal Hotel to anyone and would love to return!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
November 25, 2010

April Lippert
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Best Hotel

5
  •  

The cabins are actually very nice rooms with an incredible view. The grounds have plantings that attract many birds and so it is a pleasure to sit and watch the volcano, the clouds and the birds.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
August 20, 2010

Monroe Weber-Shirk
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Pleasant, clean e nice HOTEL

5
  •  

Very nice staff, just beakfast and very good location and view


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 29, 2010

Aldo Amorim
BrazilVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Nice and quiet

4.6
  •  

We enjoyed the nice bungalow with the beautiful view on the volcano. it is quiet and the employes are friendly and helpful.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 15, 2010

François Chatelan
SwitzerlandVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

A Wonderful Experience at the Miradas

5
  •  

Our family had a short but wonderful experience at the Miradas Arenal Hotel. Before arriving in Costa Rica, they were very helpful and prompt when replying to emails full of questions. We arrived in the evening so it was dark. We were met at the main reception building, shown to our rooms, and given a warm welcome by 2 members of the staff. The rooms were simple, but neat, clean and very comfortable. When we woke in the morning, we opened to window shades to see exactly where we were, and like something out of a movie, there was the most picturesque view of the grounds full of trees, and birds all against the stunning backdrop of the Arenal Volcano! It was like something out of a movie! We then enjoyed a wonderful home cooked breakfast, all sitting on one side of the table to enjoy the view of the volcano. Again the staff was warm and friendly, they knew me by name, told us stories about the volcano, took our pictures and really made us feel welcomed. It was the perfect start to our perfect vacation in Costa Rica.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 20, 2010

amy krause
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Gracious Hostess

4.6
  •  

Although the bungalows are somewhat plain, the grounds are lovely and the hostess/owner was welcoming, helpful, and gracious. Breakfast was bountiful and served in beautiful surroundings. I think a bottled water dispenser would be a good addition. I would most certainly stay there again.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 15, 2010

Bette Aschaffenburg
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Absolutely Fantastic!

4.8
  •  

I stayed at Miradas Arenal Hotel February 19 to the 22nd. Don't let the two star fool you.

The Bungalow's are basic, clean, safe, and have cable TV. The property is beautiful; the trees, plants, flowers, pool, and lawn are well kept. The location between Tabacon and La Fortuna worked well for me. This is a great place to "disconnect", relax, and enjoy life.

The greatest asset is Estrella, owner of the property. She provided me with a warm welcome and was extremely helpful through-out my stay. If you don't speak Spanish, her English is quite good. Breakfast in the morning is good and makes a great start to the day.

Unfortunately it rained and Arenal was clouded up most of my stay, but the early morning of the 22nd brought a great surprise. I looked my window from the Bungalow to see the incredible lava flows - the clouds had disappeared; with daylight the view of the volcano was breathtaking.

Last, if you take time to hike around the property, look for birds and other wildlife. I saw everything from colorful birds, to frogs, and even an Ant Eater walking around the property.

I will definitely return when I return to the La Fortuna / Arenal region of Costa Rica. Last, a big thanks to the staff at Fortuna Welcome - job well done with my tours & activities. Pura Vida!

Steve Richardson
Louisville, KY, USA

P.S. Here is a link to pictures from my trip:
http://www.itourist.com/members/gallery/index.php?aid=1184


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 11, 2010

Stephen Richardson
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Nothing better/sweeter than this!

5
  •  

We travelled in Costa Rica for over 2 weeks. We went from place to place and saw a lot. Stayed in lots of hotels, and ... we stayed in Miradas Arenal Hotel.

Altough it is an 2-star hotel, you get the feeling that you're in a 4-5 stars hotel. The reason is very simple. Thanks to the lovely host you arrive in Miradas Arenal with a very warm welcome and a big smile.

The rooms/bungalows are wonderfull. A quiet place to relax and enjoy nature's beauty. They are very clean and big.

The breakfast is as it should be, very typical for that area.
Its an amazing way to start your day, and (if your lucky) see the volcano. The best part of waking up.

So as you can read, we think the hotel only deserves good comments!

Sophie and Jeroen


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
January 07, 2010

Sophie Waldeyer
BelgiumVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Wonderful Experience

4.4
  •  

My boyfriend and I just returned from a trip to Costa Rica, where two of the nights we spent at Hotel Miradas. We had a great time there. One of the nights was Christmas Eve and even though we were the only guests there, the owner's made sure we were well taken care of Christmas morning. The breakfasts were amazing and very fresh. Best plaintains we had. The room was very clean and had all the basics. Highly recommend.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
December 28, 2009

Zuzana Votrubec
United States
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 4
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Beautifully peaceful

5
  •  

This is the greatest place to stay if you're looking for a peaceful setting with a gorgeous view. Each cabin looks straight out at Arenal and you get the feeling that you are the only ones there. Even the swimming pool had a great view of the volcano without buildings in the way. The owners treated us like family, down to the home cooked traditional Tico breakfast.

Thanks!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
November 02, 2009

Paul H.
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Great accommodations and family

5
  •  

Our family rented 2 cabins/bungalows and stayed for 6 nights. Two teenage boys stayed in one cabin and my husband and I in the other. The location is fantastic, beautiful view of Volcan Arenal. The breakfasts are wonderful and the family who owns the property helpful and entertaining.

Each bungalow sleep two comfortably. Actually the one the kids slept in had a king size bed and a single bed. There is wonderful hot running water and a great covered (so you can enjoy the outdoors even in the rain). The deck has views of the mountain side.

Estrella, the hostess, is very friendly, has a great sense of humor and speaks English well. She was able to provide us with suggestions on places to see on our own, without joining tours etc. We all had a wonderful time we would definitely stay at Miradas Arenal again when we're back in beautiful Costa Rica!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
September 09, 2009

Dale Kelly
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Beautiful spot and wonderful people

4.6
  •  

We greatly enjoyed the Miradas Arenal Hotel. The individuals who run the place were wonderful, and the view from our room was fantastic.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
August 31, 2009

Shannon Barras
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Miradas Arenal Hotel

5
  •  

We loved this place. It was very private and quiet. Roberto and Estrella were such good hosts and we would definitely like to stay there again on our next visit. We highly recommend Miradas to everyone.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
July 13, 2009

Ron Taylor
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
4.8
  •  

Very nice hotel, rooms are apart from each other over a hill facing the volcano.
Rooms are clean and with a great view; I have no complains, will be back soon.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 31, 2009

Erick
Costa RicaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
4.8
  •  

The grounds and location are absolutely beautiful. It is well manicured and has a wonderful view of the Arenal volcano. We stayed in their older wooden cabin. It had a nice teak deck and a small bathroom with a shower. It did have good hot water. They placed three beds in the cabin for us to sleep 5, so it made it very crowded. The cabin is very, very basic.
They do have a nice pool and they provided a good breakfast. The owners are very friendly.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 30, 2009

Eric Keller
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
5
  •  

I was very impressed with Miradas Arenal. Our cabin was beautiful and felt wonderfully romantic. We loved sitting out on the front porch watching dozens of different types of birds as they visited the flowers and trees around the lush landscaping of the hotel\'s grounds. Of course, the tranquil beauty around the cabins is accentuated by the spectacular view of Arenal volcano. The owners were very friendly and helpful - they provided a great breakfast every morning. Staying at Miradas Arenal was the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 30, 2009

Stephen Rudy
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
4.8
  •  

We stayed at the Miradras bungalows in February,\'09. We enjoyed our stay - the cabins were clean and comfortable. The staff (Estrella & Roberto) were friendly, helpful and made us feel right at home. The view is beautiful - perfect choice for a quiet, romantic get-a-way!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 11, 2009

Denise&Matt
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
5
  •  

Beautiful site. Very well kept grounds; very clean cabinas. Hosts, Estrella and Roberto, were very welcoming, served wonderful breakfast in a beautiful setting. A great intrduction to first time visitors to Costa Rica and the La Fortuna area.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 10, 2009

David Nicewicz
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
5
  •  

This was a wonderful hotel! Beautiful clean rooms, a great view, and very nice helpful owners. I highly recommend it!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 02, 2009

Laura Weingast
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
4.8
  •  

Excellent rooms and the best breakfast in Costa Rica!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 01, 2009

jason swisher
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
5
  •  

My fiance and I stayed at Hotel Miradas Arenal for 4 nights in February \'09. Our stay was wonderful. The grounds are beautiful and well kept at Hotel Miradas and the family that owns/runs it is very friendly and helpful!! Each of the Bugalows have spectacular views of the volcano, it is an amazing thing to wake up to each morning. The breakfast that is served daily is free and served fresh, made to order!! We found we had plenty of privacy and quiet, which is exactly what we were looking for. We would definitely stay at Hotel Miradas Arenal again!!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
February 20, 2009

Pamela Gloege
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
5
  •  

We had the most amazing time at Hotel Miradas, the grounds are beautiful and the bungalows were lovely especially with the balcony which had the most wonderful views of Arenal Volcano. The owners were fantastic and really made the stay a pleasure and we hope to go back soon.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
February 18, 2009

LOUISE MARTIN AND NICK KILLEN
Great BritainVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
4.6
  •  

We liked the privacy of the individual cabinas and the view of the volcano. The location is close enough to town but not right in it, which was nice.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
January 27, 2009

Jodie
CanadaVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 4
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
4.8
  •  

This was our second stay at Miradas. The owners are wonderful people and are most helpful with booking tours. A good location with direct views of the volcano (not the lava flow side at this time)


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
January 08, 2009

Debra Fitzgerald
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 4
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
4.8
  •  

My accomodations were wonderful. The cabin was clean and well designed to enjoy the beautiful view. The owners were very helpful and I apprecieated that they spoke english as my spanish is poor. Breakfast was good and prepared fresh. I would recommend Miradas to any one who would like the peace and solitude and amazing views. The only down side was no morning coffee in the rooms


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
November 25, 2008

Patrice Powers
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 4
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
5
  •  

We spent three wonderful nights at Hotel Miradas in December 2007. The owners and their daughter were so friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the bungalow and morning breakfast. We are traveling to Costa Rica again this Christmas and plan to stay at Miradas again.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
October 22, 2008

Debra Fitzgerald
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
5
  •  

Our overnight stay was very pleasant. Check in was easy and our cabin was fine. The view of Arenal was impressive. We received good directions to drive around to view the lava flow that evening. Our breakfast next morning was excellent, and our hosts made us feel welcome in every way.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
September 23, 2008

John T Welch
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
5
  •  

The Hotel Miradas Arenal has beautifully decorated clean individual cabin units with showers, refrigerator, cable tv and porch. Interior lighting is dark. The grounds are immaculate and face the volcano. Unfortunately in June of 2008 the volcana erupted and the lava flows are currently on the opposite side of the mountain from all the hotels. Breakfast is served in an open air patio under cover with a gorgeous view of the mountain, pool, birds and flowers. A highlight of our visit was meeting our hostess Estrella who made our stay extra special.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
August 14, 2008

Gwyn Tella
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
5
  •  

Hotel Miradas exceeded our expectations. The view was amazing. Breakfast was delicious. The staff helped arrange tours and told us if we couldnt get a bus back to our next destination 45 minutes away they would drive us! This wasnt necessary but it shows how willing they are to help. Everything was clean and lovely and the shower was pretty, huge, and had hot water. I highly recommend it


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
May 03, 2008

Molly
United StatesVerified traveler
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
5
  •  

We absolutely LOVED our bungalow at Miradas Arenal!! Our host was so friendly, the bungalows are situated amidst beautiful gardens and ours (and some others) had a patio directly looking at the volcano. The room was very comfortable, the breakfast was DELICIOUS, the pool was very nice, we liked the quiet location - close to town/activities but in a quiet area away from all the tourists. It is about 1/2 way between town and the hot springs - just perfect. We highly recommend it and would definitely return!!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
April 07, 2008

nicolette
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
5
  •  

We stayed here and were very happy with the spectacular view, the beautiful grounds, the adorable cabin and our hosts, Roberto and Estrella. Each cabin has ample room and land between it and the others. The feel is more like a bed and breakfast than a giant monster hotel. We had breakfast from the main patio with an absolutely amazing view of Volcan Arenal. This hotel isn\'t overly ornate or snooty. It\'s a simple, relaxing, beautiful place to stay. They are finishing building a great pool area, as well. The price is so affordable, and lower than almost all the others I found. I would recommend this to anyone.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
March 11, 2008

Erin
United States
  • Hotel condition: 5
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
4.8
  •  

We thought our hostess Estrella was delightful. The view of the volcano was fabulous, the grounds were lush and beautifully landscaped. Our little cabana was just right for us, and had orchids growing in the yard. Estrella served us a delicious breakfast. The price for our stay was quite economical, allowing us to spend the day at the Tabacon hot springs, which were just minutes away from Hotel Miradas Arenal.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
June 12, 2007

Zack and LeeAnn
United States
  • Hotel condition: 4
  • Staff & Service: 5
  • Room cleanliness: 5
  • Location: 5
  • Value for Money: 5
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Reviews ( 1-59 of 59 )

Please share with others your experiences in Miradas Arenal Hotel
USA & Canada Toll Free1 800 540 0395
Local Phone Costa Rica2479 7242
Send Us an E-mail
Arenal Volcano Hotels - Arenal Volcano Tours - Arenal Volcano Hot Springs - Arenal Volcano Vacations - Arenal Volcano Transportation - La Fortuna Costa Rica